Login |  Register |  help
Eagles Sports

Sam Llinares

Posted Thursday, May 08, 2014 by Jim Konen

All-Colonial Athletic Association Teams and Player Awards

RICHMOND, Va. (May 1, 2014) – Drexel senior midfielder Ben McIntosh was selected as the 2014 Colonial Athletic Association Men's Lacrosse Player of the Year by a vote of the league's six head coaches.

Joining McIntosh as major award winners was Hofstra's Seth Tierney, who received CAA Coach of the Year, Penn State senior goalkeeper Austin Kaut who was voted CAA Defensive Player of the Year, and Massachusetts freshman attack Nick Mariano, who earned Rookie of the Year honors.

McIntosh, a two-time All-CAA member, helped 16th-ranked Drexel earn a share of the 2014 CAA regular-season title as he led the league with 38 goals and 113 shots. The senior also dished out 11 assists and ranked third in the conference with 3.50 points per game. His efforts helped the Dragons complete the regular season with a 10-4 overall record and a 4-1 mark in CAA action.

Tierney led the 13th-ranked Hofstra Pride to a share of the CAA regular-season title with a 4-1 record in conference play. Tierney, who is in his eighth season at the helm of the Pride, receives the Coach of the Year honors for the second time during his tenure at Hofstra after guiding his club to an 11-4 overall mark. The Pride defeated nationally-ranked Fairfield, Ohio State and Cornell this season. Top-seeded Hofstra, which defeated fourth-seeded Delaware on Wednesday evening, advances to the CAA Championship game for the first time since 2008, when the Pride defeated No. 1 Drexel 10-9 in overtime under the direction of Tierney.

Kaut, the first four-time All-CAA first team honoree, earned Defensive Player of the Year for the second straight season after helping the Nittany Lions to a 7-6 overall record and a 3-2 mark in CAA play. The senior goalie and 2013 CAA Player of the Year recorded the league's top save percentage (.547) and ranked second in goals against average (8.65) and saves per game (10.31). He ranks among the top 16 in the nation in goals against average (14th) and save percentage (16th). Kaut helped the Nittany Lions achieve as high as No. 5 in the national rankings this past season with wins over nationally-ranked Notre Dame and Ohio State.

Mariano started all 13 games for the Minutemen this season, scoring a team-best 29 goals and adding 10 assists to tie for fifth in the league in points per game (3.0 ppg). Mariano earned a pair of CAA Rookie of the Week accolades and a CAA Player of the Week honor on Feb. 17 after spurring UMass in its 12-11 defeat of nationally-ranked Ohio State in overtime. Mariano is the program's second CAA Rookie of the Year honoree, following Will Manny (2010).

McIntosh led a league-best five Drexel players on the All-CAA first team. He was joined by senior attacker Nick Trizano, junior midfielder Ryan Belka, senior defender Matt Dusek, and junior face-off specialist Nick Saputo. Hofstra had three players on the first team with sophomore attack Sam Llinares, sophomore defender Finn Sullivan and junior long-stick midfielder Ryan Rielly. Kaut was joined by PSU senior attacker Shane Sturgis in earning first-team honors. Delaware junior midfielder Brian Kormondy and senior defender James Connelly were also honored on the first team along with Towson junior defender JoJo Ostrander.

Top-seeded Hofstra will host either #2 Drexel or #3 Towson for the CAA championship at 7:00 p.m. on Saturday at James M. Shuart Stadium in Hempstead, N.Y.

First Team                      Yr  Pos.  Hometown/Previous School
Sam Llinares, Hofstra So A Hauppauge, N.Y./Hauppauge
Shane Sturgis, Penn State Sr A Downingtown, Pa./Downingtown East
Nick Trizano, Drexel Sr A Eastchester, Pa./Iona Prep
Ryan Belka, Drexel Jr M Crofton, Md./DeMatha
Brian Kormondy, Delaware Jr M Highland Ranch, Colo./Mullen
Ben McIntosh, Drexel Sr M Coquitlam, B.C./Western Reserve
James Connelly, Delaware Sr D Royerford, Pa./Malvern Prep
Matt Dusek, Drexel Sr D Monkton, Md./Hereford
JoJo Ostrander, Towson Jr D Massapequa, N.Y./Farmingddale
Finn Sullivan, Hofstra So D West Roxbury, Mass./Avon Old Farms
Ryan Rielly, Hofstra Jr LSM East Northport, N.Y./John Glenn
Nick Saputo, Drexel Jr FOS Huntington, N.Y./Huntington
Austin Kaut, Penn State Sr GK Morton, Pa./Springfield-Delco

Second Team Cl Pos. Hometown/Previous School
Thomas DeNapoli, Towson Sr A East Rockaway, N.Y./Lynbrook
Nick Mariano, Massachusetts Fr A Mohegan Lake, N.Y./Yorktown
Torin Varn, Hofstra Sr A Ithaca, N.Y./Ithaca
Drew Coholan, Hofstra Sr M Rochester, N.Y./Irondequoit
Justin Mabus, Towson Jr M Yorktown Heights, N.Y./Yorktown
Connor Mooney, Massachusetts Sr M Wilbraham, Mass./Avon Old Farms
John Fennessy, Towson Sr D Yorktown Heights, N.Y./Yorktown
Kyle Karaska, Massachusetts So D Groton, Mass./Bishop Guetin (NH)
Tyler Travis, Penn State Sr D Geneva, N.Y./Geneva
James Burke, Penn State So LSM Duxbury, Mass./Duxbury
Tyler Barbarich, Delaware Jr FOS Martinsville, N.J./Bridgewater-Rariton
Chris Selva, Hofstra Jr GK Parkland, Fla./St. Thomas Aquinas

All-Rookie Team Cl Pos. Hometown/Previous School
Kris Clarke, Hofstra Fr FOS Bellmore, N.Y./Charminade
Steve DeLargy, Delaware Fr M Morristown, N.J./Morristown
Ryan Drenner, Towson Fr M Westminster, Md./Westminster
Drake Kreinz, Penn State Fr M/FO Delafield, Wisc./Portsmouth Abbey (RI)
Nick Mariano, Massachusetts Fr A Mohegan Lake, N.Y./Yorktown
Markel Nelson, Drexel Fr LSM Whitby, Ontario/Anderson
Stephen Satterthwaite, Hofstra Fr D Downingtown, Pa./Malvern Prep
Joe Seider, Towson Fr A Sparks, Md./Hereford
Cole Shafter, Drexel Fr A Coquitlam, BC/Charles Best
Mike Sutton, Penn State Fr A Sewell, N.J./St. Augustine Prep

Player of the Year: Ben Mcintosh, Drexel
Coach of the Year: Seth Tierney, Hofstra
Rookie of the Year: Nick Mariano, Massachusetts
Defensive Player of the Year: Austin Kaut, Penn State

This page was created in 0.4688 seconds on server 8